Sixties Design: Taschen Postcards

When I was younger, about 14, I used to have this pack of postcards by Taschen featuring iconic images of 1960s design. It was called – originally enough – Sixties Design. I loved them. They were firstly used to adorn my (orange!) bedroom walls and then later to send letters to Aidan during our holidays away from each other.

'Love' poster by Peter Max, 1967-68
'Love' poster by Peter Max, 1967-68

I’m not sure what made me think about them again; something last week reminded me of one of the images and once it was in my head, I wanted to see them again.

Riccardo Mnzi for Pirelli, 1965
Riccardo Menzi for Pirelli, 1965

The more I research and find out about graphics, illustration and design… the more I want to find out about graphics, illustration and design. There are so many different styles, artists, eras, movements, techniques, purposes… I can’t look at it all, but I want to.

'A is for Apple' poster designed by The Fool, c. 1967-68
'A is for Apple' poster designed by The Fool, c. 1967-68

This ‘A is for Apple’ poster by The Fool is one of my favourite images. Just picture the students who might have learned their alphabet with the aid of this poster thanks to a hippy teacher with a love for the Beatles… and the creativity it must have inspired. This one will probably get enlarged to fit one of my classroom walls. Psychedelic stories, here we come!

1 Comments Add yours

  1. Christine says:

    Ohhh I used to have the same set of postcards on my bedroom wall when I was younger! Nice to be reminded of them.

Leave a comment